21 More Sleeps

I can hardly believe that after a lifetime of dreaming of going to southern Europe and almost 2 years of planning that we will be THERE in just 3 more weeks.

The itinerary is complete, the packing is half done so now all that remains is waiting – well, except for the shoe search.  I thought I found the perfect day/evening shoe but I only saw my feet from the ankle down.  Then I put the shoes on with a dress and my legs looked like stubby tree trunks (definitely a “What Not To Wear” moment).  So now I’m on the hunt again.   Oh and I need a haircut – some chic new style that I can actually maintain?  Riiiighhht.  It’ll be the same old pulled back style I’ve worn for 20 years because let’s face it – I’m COMFORTABLE with it!  Oh yes, have to call the credit card company and the bank too so they don’t think someone’s stolen our cards and gone on a wild-ish shopping spree with them, and just remembered that we need to pay the remainder on our vacation rentals, photocopy all important documents, stock the house with groceries so the kids don’t live entirely on McDonald’s and the cats don’t starve, get some airplane pillows, a money belt….ok, guess we’re not QUITE ready to go yet.

Meanwhile, in a mad attempt to drop a few pounds before going to Europe (mindful that my very European aunt said, with a touch of disgust, that you can always tell the north Americans in Europe because they are all FAT) I have joined Jenny Craig.  Yes, I should have made some attempt starting back in January to become fashionably thin, but way back then I thought I’d have plenty of time??  Turns out time has run out.  So, lured by Valerie Bertinelli of One Day At A Time and now Jenny Craig fame, I jumped in.   It’s been almost a week of practically starving  and I haven’t lost an OUNCE but I AM getting increasingly crabby.

Otherwise, things are moving along smoothly as we continue our ascent to the pinnacle of excitement – actually boarding the plane!!

PS…some sights we will be seeing

Gaudi's Park Guell

Cinque Terre

Leave a comment